Follow nationalizer on WordPress.com

gandhiji and hindutva

some thoughts of gandhiji seems to be striking chords with hindutva , whom our gandhian home minister called saffron  terrorists , these are some of the thoughts from gandhijis autobiography "my experigandhiji1ments with truth"  . I request all of you (especially our congress polititians) to read them and tell where the saffron logic is to be blamed…??

 

GANDHIJI ON CONVERSION

Why should a Christian want to convert a Hindu to Christianity ?

Why should a Christian want to convert a Hindu to Christianity and vice versa?Why should he not be satisfied if the Hindu is a good or godly man? If the morals of a man are a matter of no concern,the form of worship in particular manner in a church, a mosque or a temple is an empty formula;it may even be a hindrance to individual or social growth, and insistence on a particular form or repetition of a credo may be a potent cause of violent quarrels of a credo may be a  potent cause of violent quarrels leading to bloodshed and ending utter disbelief in Religion,i.e. God Himself.

BAN CONVERSION !!!

If I had power and could legislate, I should certainly stop all proselytizing. It is the cause of much avoidable conflict between classes and unnecessary heart-burning among missionaries. But I should welcome people of any nationality if they came to serve here for the sake of service. In Hindu households the advent of a missionary has meant the disruption of the family coming in the wake of change of dress, manners, language, food and drink

Reasons of dislike to christians is Conversion !!

Only Christianity was at the time an exception. I developed a sort of dislike for it. And for a reason. In those days Christian missionaries used to stand in a corner near the high school and hold forth, pouring abuse on Hindus and their gods. I could not endure this. I must have stood there to hear them once only, but that was enough to dissuade me from repeating the experiment. About the same time, I heard of a well known Hindu having been converted to Christianity. It was the talk of the town that, when he was baptized, he had to eat beef and drink liquor, that he also had to change his clothes, and that thenceforth he began to go about in European costume including a hat. These things got on my nerves. Surely, thought I, a religion that compelled one to eat beef, drink liquor, and change one’s own clothes did not deserve the name. I also heard that the new convert had already begun abusing the religion of his ancestors, their customs and their country. All these things created in me a dislike for Christianity.

The only God concept of christianity !!

“It was impossible for me to believe that I could go to heaven or attain salvation only by becoming a Christian. When I frankly said so to some of the good Christian friends, they were shocked. But there was no help for it.

My difficulties lay deeper. It was more than I could believe that Jesus was the only incarnate son of God, and that only he who believed in him would have everlasting life. If God could have sons, all of us were His sons. If Jesus was like God, or God Himself, then all men were like God and could be God Himself. My reason was not ready to believe literally that Jesus by his death and by his blood redeemed the sins of the world. Metaphorically there might be some truth in it. Again, according to Christianity only human beings had souls, and not other living beings, for whom death meant complete extinction; while I held a contrary belief. I could accept Jesus as a martyr, an embodiment of sacrifice, and a divine teacher, but not as the most perfect man ever born. His death on the Cross was a great example to the world, but that there was anything like a mysterious or miraculous virtue in it my heart could not accept. The pious lives of Christians did not give me anything that the lives of men of other faiths had failed to give. I had seen in other lives just the same reformation that I had heard of among Christian principles. From the point of view of sacrifice, it seemed to me that the Hindus greatly surpassed the Christians. It was impossible for me to regard Christianity as a perfect religion or the greatest of all religions”

Comparing gauttama buddha and jesus !!

“ ‘Look at Gautama’s compassion!’ said I. ‘It was not confined to mankind, it was extended to all living beings. Does not one’s heart overflow with love to think of the lamb joyously perched on his shoulders? One fails to notice this love for all living beings in the life of Jesus.’ “

I love Christianity, Islam and many other faiths – through Hinduism !!

.

COW PROTECTION

Importance of cow for hindus

The central fact of Hinduism is cow protection. Cow protection to me is one of the most wonderful phenomena in human evolution. It takes the human being beyond this species. The cow to me means the entire sub-human world. Man through the cow is enjoined to realize his identity with all that lives. Why the cow was selected for apotheosis is obvious to me. The cow was in India the best companion. She was the giver of plenty. Not only did she give milk, but she also made agriculture possible……..

Cow protection is the gift of Hinduism to the world. And Hinduism will live so ling as there are Hindus to protect the cow…… Hindus will be judged not by their TILAKS, not by the correct chanting of MANTRAS, not by their pilgrimages, not by their most punctilious observances of caste rules, but their ability to protect the cow.

if the Musalmans considered it as their neighbourly duty to stop cow slaughter, they should do so regardless of whether the Hindus helped them in the Khilafat or not"

 

SANSKRIT

Today I cannot but think with gratitude of Krishnashankar Pandya. For if I had not acquired the little Samskrit that I had learnt then, I should have found it difficult to take any interest in our sacred books. In fact I deeply regret that I was not able to acquire a more thorough knowledge of the language, because I have since realized that every Hindu boy and girl should possess sound Samskrit learning.

 

 

Mahatma Gandhi and Sardar Patel are said to have held the view that the INC (indian national congress) was formed only for achieving independence and should have been disbanded in 1947 !!!!

4 Comments on “gandhiji and hindutva”

  1. Mahalingam says:

    First of all, i really hate the whole concept of multiple religions. When we have the same concept, why have zillions of religions?
    The main matters of dispute today really comes from the fact that the religious values are getting misinterpreted… Stop that, and everything will be alright…

  2. arunnnnn says:

    hmm he was very righteous man but sadly our present CULTURE is on the verge of getin eaten up by
    policitical VULTURES….
    but remember DOGS are barking only bcoz LIONS are sleeping.

  3. Hi,

    I respect gandhi in all senses, but something can never be accepted, You should not teach Ahimsa to a Hindu society, becoz Ahimha is the base root of HINDUS! you should teach Religious things to Hindus, and not Secularism, Hindus are already secular..THE only religion accept all others..
    Jaimatha.

  4. Saffron is our national flag from historical times, why it is said to be religious, its not religious, but national.


Your views please...

